About Us | Feedback | Ask the Statistician | Advertise on Howstat | Compare Players
Home Page

Match Lists & Scorecards
Series Lists
All Rounders
Wicket Keeping
World Cup
World Series Cricket
Upcoming Milestones
Recent Records
World XI (Test)
World XI (ODI)
Top Ten (Test)
Top Ten (ODI)
Search HowSTAT
HowSTAT Quiz
Links (Cricket Sites)
Cricket Games
 ICC World T20 Tournament in Bangladesh
Cricket is an interesting phenomenon, it has a cult status for millions of people all over the world, yet a lot don't know anything about it. Still it is the second most popular sport in the whole world and definitely the most popular sport in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and other countries in South Asia. It is of course very popular in the country of origin UK as well. It is a sport with a lot of history and tradition, as it was played for the first time in the 16th century.
One thing that a lot of people remarked about cricket is that it a match lasts too long. A match of Test Cricket is played in the course of five days. That's why several variants of cricket that have significantly shorter playing time were introduced over the years. One of the most popular such variants and one of the three types of cricket which are under the International Cricket Council (ICC) is Twenty20 cricket, also called Twenty-20 or T20.
T20 Cricket Cricket2
A game of T20 cricket lasts about 3 hours, which makes it quite short compared to other types of cricket and close to the average duration of a match in other popular sports such as football. That was basically the goal of the inventors, to design a version of cricket which would be fast enough to attract people to watch it, both on telly and at stadiums. T20 was invented in 2003 in England and it became very popular. The game is played in all member states of the ICC- England, Bangladesh, Australia, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe and in many associate members.
T20 World Tournaments
ICC World Twenty20 tournaments have been held since 2007. 16 countries participated in the last tournament which was held in Bangladesh, including the 10 ICC members and 6 of the associate members. The tournaments are held each two years, although this is not a rule since once there was no gap year and there will be a 4 year gap between the following two tournaments in 2016 and 2020. The first tournament was held in 2007, in South Africa and in the final India beat neighbouring Pakistan at the Johannesburg Wanderers Stadium. Then, 2009 the championship took place in England and Pakistan this time managed to win against Sri Lanka in the final. The next tournament was held the following 2010 and it took place in the West Indies. The final saw England meet Australia and it ended with a victory for the Englishmen. The 2012 tournament was held in Sri Lanka and the hosts lost to the West Indies in the final.
ICC World T20 in Bangladesh 2014
The last tournament, which was the fifth in total was held in Bangladesh from 16 March to 6 April in 2014. The matches of the tournament were played in 8 cities, Dhaka- the capital, then Khulna, Chittagong, Rangpur, Cox's Bazar, Sylhet, Narayanganj and Barisal. This was the first tournament where 16 teams participated. Australia didn't manage to enter the knockout stage having won only one out of four games. Cricket is popular in Australia, but so are online casino games. If you are a fan of online casino games, you might want to read quality online casino reviews. If that is the case, you can find them here, but to make a legal cricket bet we recommend SportsBet.com.au. In the knockout stage of this championship, Sri Lanka played against West Indies and India faced South Africa. Sri Lanka and India won the respective games and they met in the final. The game was played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, also known as Mirpur Stadium in Dhaka and the Sri Lankans won the game by 6 wickets. This was the first title for Sri Lanka and they are the only team which has played in 3 finals.